Parish Leadership

Unitarian Universalism is a democratic religion, and decisions about the Parish are made by elected lay leaders in consultation with the ministers, and, on some matters, by congregational vote. First Parish has an elected board of ten people — called The Parish Committee — who meet regularly to manage the business of the congregation. Other important elected and volunteer committees help with every aspect of church life, from budgeting and managing finances, to maintaining the buildings and grounds, to supporting the elementary religious education program and youth group activities.

Committee terms begin on July 1; Parish Committee members typically serve for four years. The Committee for the 2017-2018 church year includes:
  • Kathy Genovese, Co-Chair
  • Keith Sims, Co-Chair
  • Laurie Bent, Treasurer
  • Lynn Trimby, Clerk
  • Beth Butler
  • Jim Kitendaugh
  • Amy Meneely
  • Jenny Silberman
  • John Thompson
  • Thaddeus Thompson