Founded in 1640, First Parish has a long and rich history. The First Parish Archives, lovingly overseen by the Archives Committee, include a wide range of records and artifacts from bygone days right up to the present time. From committee minutes to letters and photos, they show how much times have changed, and how many things are still the same.
The Archives Committee is pleased to post occasional stories about archived items and what they reveal about our shared past.
Learn more about…
- The Building of our Meetinghouse in 1815
- First Parish and the Red Scare in the 1950s
- Wayland and Two First Parish Notables During the Civil War
- Our Rummage Sale – An Institution Since 1944
- Our 1947 Sprinkler System
- Organs Past and Present
- First Parish Meetinghouses